Which Category Does Jain Belong To?

Which category is Jain?

Jains belong to General Category but belongs to Religious Minority Group like Sikhs, Christians, Buddhists and Muslims..

Who are Jains by caste?

Jain Bunt are a Jain community from Karnataka, India. Jain Komati is a small community scattered all over South and Central India and patrons of many Jain Institutions. Saraks is a community in Jharkhand, Bihar, Bengal, and Orissa. They have been followers of Jainism since ancient time.

Is there any reservation for Jain?

Although Jains are not entitled for any reservation per se, Central Govt as well as State Govts have various scholarship schemes for Jain as well as other Religious minority students pursuing various technical courses, UPSC, SSC etc.

Can a Brahmin marry a Jain?

Can a Jain Marry a Brahmin? Fortunately, just like the other castes of Hinduism, modern Jains usually won’t be prohibited from marrying a Brahmin.

Are all Jains marwaris?

‘Marwari’ is an umbrella term to classify both Hindus and Jains. The Marwaris originate from Eastern Rajasthan and the term was used as an ethnographic classification in the 1901 census. … It was during the colonial period that the heterogeneous Marwaris came to form a community under the colonial state.

Are Jains are Hindu?

Jainism is considered to be a legally distinct religion in India. A section of scholars earlier considered it as a Hindu sect or a Buddhist heresy, but it is one of the three ancient Indian religions.